Hermann Esterbauer Award 2018

Hermann Esterbauer Award 2018

Call for Applications


We are seeking nominations for the Hermann Esterbauer Award Lecture to be given at the HNE Club 2018 Biennial Meeting that will be held in Nashville, TN, USA (November 11- 13, 2018, Vanderbilt University).

This meeting is a satellite to the SfRBM conference that will take place in Chicago.

The Hermann Esterbauer Memorial Award is given in memory of the late Professor Hermann Esterbauer from the University of Graz (Austria) who discovered the end product of lipid peroxidation 4-hydroxynonenal (HNE).

  1. The Awardee will be invited to present his/her work at the 2018 meeting of the International HNE Club. The registration will be waived and there would be a contribution to other expenses. In addition, there will be a certificate and prize to commemorate the award, and the awardee will also be expected to write a review article to be published in Free Radic. Biol. Med, subject to peer review.
  1. Applicants should preferably be young scientists (<40 years of age) who have made an outstanding contribution to research in the field of the lipid peroxidation, and continue to demonstrate commitment to this field. The Committee will favour a promising young investigator on the brink of developing independence and who is likely to become a substantial researcher in the area of lipid peroxidation and 4-hydroxynonenal.
  1. The deadline for applications is 15th June 2018. Applications should be submitted by email (subject: Hermann Esterbauer Award_2018) to the Secretary of the HNE-Club, Dr. Maria Fedorova (maria.fedorova@bbz.uni-leipzig.de).
  1. The application should include:
  • a covering letter explaining why the applicant considers that he/she merits the Hermann Esterbauer Award.
  • a scientific curriculum vitae (giving Date of Birth),
  • PDFs of up to five papers published in journals which are indexed in the Science Citation Index (note that these should provide evidence for a continuing involvement in the field of lipid peroxidation),
  • in case of multi-author papers a short statement which outlines the contribution of the applicant, signed by the current head of the group,
  • a copy of acceptance by the editor in case of papers which are not yet printed but accepted for publication.
  1. The applications will be reviewed by the members of the HNE-Club Awards Advisory board. Each reviewer can allocate up to 5 points to each application. The winner will be the applicant with the highest number of points. In case of a tie, the decision lies with the chairman of the advisory board.
  1. The decision of the advisory board is final.
  1. The committee aims to inform the candidates of the outcome of their applications by the end July 2018.

The previous awardees are:

2002 – Dr Norbert Leitinger (Vienna) & Dr Mark A. Smith (Cleveland) [Joint winners]; 2004 – Dr Cinzia Domenicotti (Genoa); 2006 – Dr Karim Echtay (Balamand, Lebanon); 2008 – Dr Matthew Picklo (Grand Forks Human Nutrition Research Center, USA); 2010 – Dr Tanea T. Reed (Eastern Kentucky University, USA); 2012 Dr Ana Reis (Aston Triangle Birmingham, UK); 2014 Dr Dr Christophe Soulages (INSA Lyon, CarMeN, France)

Awards Committee: ECKL, Peter; GUERAUD, Fran├žoise; MANN, Giovanni E.; REED, Tanea; SPICKETT, Corinne M.; UCHIDA, Koji; WERNER, Siems; ZARKOVIC, Neven.