K-Theory Prizes

The K-Theory Foundation, Inc. intends to regularly award prizes to the most deserving young mathematicians working in K-theory and related fields, in order to encourage and promote development of the subject. The first such prizes were awarded in 2014 at a meeting in Beijing just prior to the International Congress of Mathematicians in Seoul.  The Foundation awarded the 2018 prizes at the K-theory meeting in Argentina, just prior to the 2018 International Congress of Mathematicians in Rio de Janeiro, each with a monetary value of $1000 (USD).  The 2022 prizes were awarded online just prior to the start of ICM2022.  

The provisions governing these prizes are as follows:

1. KTF will award at satellite meetings preceding each International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) one or two prizes to young mathematicians for outstanding work related to K-theory. A mathematician receiving the prize must be no more than 35 years of age in the year he or she receives a prize. This age limit will be taken with some flexibility, in particular to account for career breaks or a non-standard professional career. The prizes will carry an award between $500 and $1500, to be determined by the BOT.

2. In September of each year preceding an ICM, the BOT will solicit nominations for KTF prizes. Nominations may be made by any member of the K-theory community and should arrive by mid-February of the year of the ICM. A nomination should include a brief description of the scope of the candidate’s work and a statement of the merit of the candidate’s strongest results and papers. A short CV should cover the candidate’s birthdate, birthplace, and career milestones. No later than January of the year of the ICM, the BOT will appoint a 3-5 member Prize Committee with the mandate to report the prize winners to the BOT by April 10 of the same year. The committee shall have at least one KTF member. The Prize Committee will operate under the rules of good practice of similar AMS and EMS prize committees. Prize winners will be invited to submit an article to AKT, with the understanding that it would have to meet the usual standards of the journal.

Following these rules, the BOT appointed the following Prize Committee to select the winners of the 2022 K-Theory Prizes:

Winners of the Prizes

According to the recommendations of the Prize Committee, the winners of the 2014 K-Theory Prizes were Joseph Ayoub of the University of Zürich and Moritz Kerz of the University of Regensburg. Each winner received a $1000 cash prize and a Prize Certificate.  Citations explain some of the major work of the two prizewinners.

The winners of the 2018 K-Theory Prizes were Ben Antieau of the University of Illinois, Chicago (now at Northwestern University), and Marc Hoyois of the University of Southern California (now at the University of Regensburg). Each winner received a $1000 cash prize and a Prize Certificate.  Citations explain some of the major work of the two prizewinners.

The winners of the 2022 K-Theory Prizes were Akhil Mathew of the University of Chicago and Zhouli Xu of the University of California, San Diego.  Each winner received a $1500 cash prize.  Citations explain some of the major work of the two prizewinners.

Congratulations to all winners!

  • Explanation of acronyms:
  • AMS = American Mathematical Society
  • BOT = Board of Trustees
  • EMS = European Mathematical Society
  • ICM = International Congress of Mathematicians
  • AKT = Annals of K-Theory
  • KTF = K-Theory Foundation, Inc.